What Uni Awards

You may know that we have a special interest in universities because we supply most of the UK universities, and many international ones, with thesis and dissertation binding services. In this, the first of several university ratings-related posts, we are happy to announce the winners of the 2014 What Uni Student Choice Awards, held earlier this month in a ceremony hosted by Clive Anderson. These are the culmination of ratings and reviews given by more than 18,000 current and past university students and are a firm indication of their experiences whilst studying at their particular university. Categories include overall University of the Year, best Job Propects, best Course & Lecturers, best Student Union, best Accommodation, best Uni Facilities, best City Life, best Clubs & Societies and best International Uni.

The overall University of the Year crown was awarded to Swansea University with Glasgow School of Art in second place and Loughborough University third. A special mention should also go to the University of Surrey which, although not an outright winner in any one category, featured in the top ten results in 8 out of the 9 award categories, which is very impressive indeed. Glasgow School of Art was not far behind, featuring in 6 of the award categories and Loughborough University and the University of Strathclyde featured in 5 of the award categories, both also being an outright winner in at least one of their categories.

So without further delay, the winners of the most prized category were …

‘University of the Year’ category:

1. Swansea University
2. Glasgow School of Art
3. Loughborough University
4. University of Strathclyde
5. University of Hull
6. University of Bath
7. Harper Adams University
8. Falmouth University
9. Cardiff University
10. University of Surrey

For the top ten winners of all the other categories, a list, links and more information can be found on the WhatUni website here. For our next post watch out for a similar survey of UK universities, this time organised by The Times Higher Education team.